Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel

Bangalore Metro Route Map Guide

Bangalore Metro, locally known as Namma Metro (meaning ‘Our Metro’ in Kannada), serves the city of Bangalore, the IT capital of India. Currently, only Phase 1 of the system is operational, whereas Phase 2 is under construction and Phase 3 under deliberation. The network is spread across 42.3 km and consists of 40 stations. Daily, over 4 lakh (400,000) people use the metro. Electricity is supplied to the trains via third rail, which carries a direct current of 750 Volts. The trains run at a frequency of 5–15 minutes at speeds of just under 80km/h. On the systems, trains (consisting of 3 or 6 coaches) travel on the ground, as well as above and under it.

Bangalore Metro Quick Info

  • Owner: Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd. (formed under partnership by Government of Karnataka and Government of India)
  • Serving Cities: Bangalore only
  • Number of Lines: 2 (interchange at Majestic)
  • Headquarters: BMTC Complex, Shanthinagar
  • Operations Started in: 2011
  • Daily Timings: 5:00 am to 11:25 pm (Mon–Sat); 7:00 am to 11:25 pm (Sun)
  • Fare: ₹ 10–45

Bangalore Metro Lines

Metro Line Length (Km) Stations Starting Point – End Point
Purple 18.2 17 Baiyappanahalli – Mysore Road
Green 24.2 24 Nagasandra – Yelachenahalli

Bangalore Metro Lesser-Known Facts

  • First metro in the southern part of India to have an underground section
  • Rainwater is harvested at several points along the two lines, and it is then treated and supplied as potable water
  • Smart card offer a 15% discount on the normal token fare
  • The system uses 1435 mm (standard gauge) tracks
  • Phase 2 to be completed by 2022 and provide connectivity to Electronic City

Bangalore Metro Route Map


Book Hotels – Budget Hotels in Bangalore | Couples Friendly Hotels in Bangalore

Call Now ButtonCall to Book Hotels