Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Mumbai Red Line Metro Map Timings, Lines, Facts & Stations

Published Date: 04-Sep-2023

The Red Line of the Mumbai Metro was one of the first lines to be operational and spans approximately 16.5 kilometres with 14 stations.

Quick Info

  • Inaugurated on: 8 August 2016
  • Number of Stations: 14 Stations and 4 Interchanges
  • Timings: 6:30 am to 11:25 pm
  • Ticket Price: Rs.10 to Rs.70

Mumbai Metro Red Line Route Map

Mumbai Metro Red Line Interesting Facts

  • Line 7, also known as the Gundavali to Dahisar East corridor Line, runs through Mumbai for 16.5 km via 14 stations.
  • The line uses 1,435 mm (Standard gauge) tracks and overhead catenary carrying AC at 25 kilovolts. Though the line has a maximum permissible speed of 80 km/h, the four-coach trains run at 65 km/h.
  • The headway between the trains varies from 3 minutes during peak hours to 5 minutes at other times of the day.

Red Line Stations

The list below comprises the stations covered on the Mumbai Metro Red Line.

Station Name Interchange/ Connections Nearby Accommodation
Rashtriya Udyan    
Magathane Indian Railways, Central Line, Harbour Line  
Kurar  Western Line  
Dindoshi Indian Railways, Western Line  
Goregaon (East)  Pink Line Hotels in Goregaon
Jogeshwari East     
Gundavali Line 7A- Red Line  

*Note: The stations from Goregaon East to Gundavali are under construction. These stations will become fully operational by next year (2024).

Top Attractions Connected by Red Line

Attractions Nearest Station
Haji Ali Dargah Mogra 
Aarey Forest Reserve Aarey 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How many metro stations are on the Mumbai Metro Red Line?

A. Currently, the Red Line Mumbai Metro is running on 14 stations with 4 interchanges.

Q. Which is the 1st station on the Red Line metro in Mumbai?

A. Ovaripada and Gundavali are the initial stations on the Red Line on both ends.

Q. Which is the most popular station on the Red Line metro in Mumbai?

A. Some of the most popular stations on the Red Line are Jogeshwari East, Goregaon, Magathane, and Gundavali.

Q. Who made the Red Line metro in Mumbai?

A. Mumbai Metro One Private Rail Limited (MMOPRL) manages all the operations of Mumbai Metro.

Q. Which is the cleanest metro line in Mumbai?

A. The Mumbai Metro has made significant efforts to maintain cleanliness by implementing regular cleaning schedules, and waste management systems, and educating passengers about maintaining cleanliness inside the trains and stations.

Q. Which metro line is the longest in Mumbai?

A. The Yellow line is the longest with 18.60 km and 17 stations.

Q. Which is the shortest Mumbai Metro line?

A. The shortest metro line in Mumbai is the Blue Line with a distance of 11.4 km and 12 stations.

Q. What is the timing of the first train from a Red Line in Mumbai?

A. The first train departure time on the Red Line of the Mumbai Metro is 6:30 a.m.

Q. What is the timing of the last train from the Red Line in Mumbai?

A. The last train departure time on the Red Line of the Mumbai Metro is 11:25 p.m.

Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.
Book Now