Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Lucknow Metro Route Map, Timings, Lines, Facts & Station

Published Date: 22-Oct-2019

Lucknow Metro is a modern rapid transit system serving the city of Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh. Most of the system runs on elevated viaducts, while a small portion is underground.

Lucknow Metro Quick Info

  • Owner: Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation
  • Serving Cities: Lucknow
  • Number of Stations: 21 stations
  • Distance Covering: 23.7 km
  • Headquarters: Gomti Nagar
  • Started Operations in: 6 September 2017
  • Daily Timings: 6:00 am to 10:00 pm
  • Fare: ₹10–60

Lucknow Metro Route Map

Lucknow Metro Interesting Facts

  • The Lucknow Metro, also known as the LMRC (Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation), started its commercial operations on September 6, 2017. The inaugural run of the Lucknow Metro took place on the 5th of the same month and was flagged off by the then Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi.
  • The trains, comprising 4 coaches, travel at a top speed of 90 km/h with a headway of 5 minutes. 
  • Standard gauge (1435 mm) tracks are used on the system, whereas 25 kilovolts of alternating current are supplied through overhead catenary.
  • The blue line of Lucknow Metro is proposed from Charbagh to Vasant Kunj and is waiting for approvals.

Lucknow Metro Lines

Line  Length (Km) Stations Starting Point – End Point
Red 22.8 21 CCS Airport – Munshipulia

Lucknow Metro Red Line

The Red Line, which opened on September 5th, 2017, is the only operational line of Lucknow Metro. The roughly 23 km long line with 21 stations connects the south-western and north-eastern parts of the city, essentially linking its two busiest transit hubs. The trains consist of four coaches, and they have a maximum speed of 90 km/h and headway of 5 minutes. The Red Line uses standard gauge (1435 mm) tracks and 25 kilovolt alternating current fed into the trains by overhead catenary. All stations have artwork representing the city’s rich culture, including its famous attractions.

Stations on Red Line

Station Interchange/Connections Nearby Accommodation
Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport Hotels near CCS Airport
Amausi   Hotels near Amausi
Transport Nagar   Hotels in Transport Nagar
Krishna Nagar    
Singar Nagar    
Alambagh   Hotels in Alambagh
Alambagh Bus Station Alambagh Bus Station  
Durgapuri Lucknow Junction Railway Station; Aishbagh Railway Station Hotels near Durgapuri
Charbagh Charbagh Railway Station; Lucknow Junction Railway Station Hotels in Charbagh
Hazratganj   Hotels near Hazratganj
KD Singh Stadium    
Vishvavidyalay   Hotels near Vishvavidyalay
IT Chauraha    
Badshah Nagar    
Lekhraj Market    
Bhootnath Market    
Indira Nagar   Hotels in Indira Nagar

Top Attractions Connected by Red Line

Attraction Nearest Station Distance from Nearest Station (Km)
Dream World Amusement Park Krishna Nagar 1.9
State Museum Sachivalaya 1.6
Hazratganj Hazratganj Market 0
Begum Hazrat Mahal Park KD Singh Stadium 0.5
The Residency KD Singh Stadium 1.3
Chattar Manzil KD Singh Stadium 1
Safed Baradari KD Singh Stadium 0.6
Shaheed Smarak KD Singh Stadium 1.4
Hanuman Setu Mandir KD Singh Stadium 0.9
Indira Gandhi Planetarium KD Singh Stadium 2.1
Bhootnath Temple Bhootnath Market 0.4
Wave Mall Indira Nagar 0.9
Kukrail Forest Munshipulia 3.6

Lucknow Metro Lesser-Known Facts

  • Fastest metro system in India, in terms of construction time
  • Another line planned; to intersect the Red Line at Charbagh Railway Station
  • 20,000 tonnes of steel supplied by Steel Authority of India Limited for just the first section (8.5 km) of the Red Line
  • Ex-Delhi Metro Managing Director E Sreedharan served as principal advisor
  • Stations studded with images displaying the city’s culture
  • Signage in English, Hindi and Urdu

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How many metro stations are on the Lucknow Metro Line?

A. Currently, the Red Line in Lucknow Metro is running on 21 stations. 

Q. Which is the 1st station on the Red Line metro in Lucknow?

A. CCS Airport and Munshipulia are the initial stations on the Red Line on both ends.

Q. Which is the most popular station on the Red Line metro in Lucknow?

A. Some of the most popular stations on the Red Line are CCS Airport, Hazratganj, Charbagh, Transport Nagar, IT Chauraha, and Indiranagar.

Q. Who made the Red Line metro in Lucknow?

A. Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation(NMRC) operates all the operations of Lucknow Metro.

Q. What is the timing of the first train from Red Line in Lucknow?

A. The first train departure time on the Red Line of the Lucknow Metro is 6:00 am.

Q. What is the timing of the last train from the Red Line in Lucknow?

A. The last train departure time on the Red Line of the Lucknow Metro is 10:00 pm.

Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.
Book Now