Pre-booking of RT-PCR Test Mandatory

Amid the increasing cases of the New COVID Variant – Omicron – the civil aviation ministry has issued the mandate to pre-book RT-PCR Test for all passengers arriving at six major airports in India. These include Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad and Bengaluru. The ‘Air Suvidha’ portal will be modified to accommodate this new provision for travellers arriving from ‘at risk’ countries or who have visited these within the last two weeks. The officials further added that this is only the first stage, and that once the system will be stabilised, the protocol may be extended to other airports too.

The announcement came early Monday morning following India’s Omicron tally rose to 151 on Sunday when Maharashtra reported six more cases. Till date, omicron cases have been reported in 11 states and union territories – Maharashtra, Kerala, Delhi, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Karnataka, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal. 

Suggested Read: State-Wise Travel Guidelines Amid New COVID Variant