Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Mahashivratri 2024: Festival Date, Significance, Celebration

Published Date: 03-Dec-2022

Mahashivratri is one of the biggest festivals in Shaivism, which is one of the two main cults within mainstream Hinduism. As is clear by its name, it is dedicated to Lord Shiva, the deity associated with death and destruction. A Shivratri falls every month on the 14th day of the Krishna Paksha (the 15-day period when the moon wanes). However, the Shivratri falling in the Hindu month of Magha is considered the most significant. In the Gregorian calendar, Mahashivratri falls in late-February or early-March; its 2024 date is March 8th.

Mahashivratri History and significance

Mahashivratri  2020

Mahashivratri 2024

As is with every religious festival, several myths and legends are associated with Mahashivratri. As per one story, it was the night when Lord Shiva drank the poison produced during Samudra Manthan or churning of the ocean. Another legend states that on this night, Lord Shiva performed the Tandava, the cosmic dance which leads to total destruction and creation. Yes another story says that Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati were married on this night.

Mahashivratri Celebrations across India

Mahashivratri 2020

Mahashivratri 2024

A distinction between Mahashivratri and other Hindu festivals is that while others are celebrated with fanfare, Mahashivratri is a rather solemn occasion in most parts of the country. Devotees fast during the day, perform yoga and pray to the deity. At most temples dedicated to him, people stay up all night chanting Mantras and Sanskrit shlokas in his honour.

However, there are places where the celebrations of Mahashivratri are accompanied by pomp and fervour. There is a huge fair organised in Mandi for 7 days that you can attend. During the event, idols of more than 200 regional deities are brought out of temples in palanquins and paraded.

Suggested Read: Diwali Puja 2024

Best Places to Observe the Celebrations of Mahashivratri

  • Tiruvannamalai
  • Varanasi
  • Ujjain
  • Mandi
  • Haridwar
  • Guwahati

Other Festivals in India with Holiday Type

Festivals in India Day Date Holiday Type
New Year’s Day Mon 01-Jan Restricted Holiday
Lohri Sat 13-Jan Restricted Holiday
Makar Sankranti Sun 14-Jan Restricted Holiday
Pongal Mon 15-Jan Restricted Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Wed 17-Jan Restricted Holiday
Republic Day Fri 26-Jan Gazetted Holiday
Losar Sat 10-Feb Restricted Holiday
Basant Panchmi Wed 14-Feb Restricted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Jayanti Sat 24-Feb Gazetted Holiday
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Wed 6-Mar Restricted Holiday
Mahashivratri Fri 8-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Holi Mon 25-March Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Fri 29-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Easter Day Sun 31-Mar Restricted Holiday
Gudi Padwa Tue 9-Apr Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Wed 10-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Vaisakhi (Vishu) Sat 13-Apr Restricted Holiday
Rama Navami Wed 17-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Sun 21-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Wed 8-May Restricted Holiday
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 23-May Gazetted Holiday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) Mon 17-Jun Restricted Holiday
Rath Yatra Sun 7-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Muharram (Ashura) Wed 17-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Independence Day Thu 15-Aug Gazetted Holiday
Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraz) Thu 15-Aug Public Holiday
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Mon 19-Aug Restricted Holiday
Janmashtami Mon 26-Aug Restricted Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi Sat 7-Sep Restricted Holiday
Onam Sun 15-Sep Restricted Holiday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e- Milad Mon 16-Sep Gazetted Holiday
Gandhi Jayanti Wed 02-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra Sat 12-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Valmiki Jayanti Thu 17-Oct Restricted Holiday
Karva Chauth Sun 20-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dhanteras Tue 29-Oct Restricted Holiday
Kali Puja Thu 31-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Halloween Day Thu 31-Oct No Holiday
Diwali Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Lakshmi Puja Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Karnataka Rajyotsava Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Kerala Piravi Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Govardhan Puja Sat 2-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Bhai Dooj Sun 3-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Chhath Puja Thu 7-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Fri 15-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Wed 25-Dec Public Holiday
Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.
Close
Book Now