Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Ram Navami 2024 Date, History, Significance, Celebration

Published Date: 05-Dec-2022

Celebrated during the spring season of every year, Ram Navami marks the birth of the Hindu deity Rama who is also referred to as the seventh avatar of Lord Vishnu. As per Hindu calendar, Ram Navami falls on the 9th day of Shukla Paksha in the month of Chaitra. Devotees end their 9-day-long fast on this auspicious occasion. This year, Ram Navami will be celebrated on 17th April which is a Wednesday. In the honor of Lord Rama and Goddess Sita, devotees visit temples and recite verses from the holy Ramayana.

Ram Navami History and Significance

Ram Navami 2020

Ram Navami 2024

As mentioned earlier, Ram Navami is celebrated to honor the incarnation of Lord Vishnu’s seventh avatar, Marayada Purshottam Sri Ram. One of the oldest festivals of India, this day is believed to date back to the pre-Christian era. According to legends, Ram Navami was among the few festivals that could be celebrated even by the lower castes. As per Ramayana, the king, Dashratha had three wives; Sumitra, Kausalya, and Kaikeyi. But none of them bore him a son as a successor to his throne. It was on this day in the year 5114 BC that Rama was born as the seventh avatar of Lord Vishnu and the eldest son of king Dashratha in Ayodhya, U.P. There is another legend, highlighting this day as the wedding anniversary (Kalyanotsavam) of Lord Rama and Goddess Sita.

Ram Navami Celebrations across India

Ram Navami 2020

Ram Navami 2024

This holy Indian festival is celebrated by doing bhajan, kirtan, fasting and reading about Lord Rama’s life. Vaishnava Hindus visit temples whereas others prefer spiritual meets at their homes. Some locations including Ayodhya (Uttar Pradesh), Bhadrachalam (Telangana), Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu) and Sitamarhi (Bihar) organise rath yatra (chariot processions) to honor this auspicious occasion.

In Karnataka, the birth of Lord Rama is celebrated as Sri Ramanavami during which devotees distribute free panaka (crushed muskmelon juice and jaggery). The Sree Ramaseva Mandali, R.C.T (R.) Chamrajpet organizes a month-long classical music festival celebrating the occasion. Hence, if you are anywhere near Bengaluru, Karnataka then you must not miss this event.

And in case, you are in the eastern parts of India including Odisha, Jharkhand or West Bengal, then you may visit regional Jagannath temples to observe the annual Jagannath Ratha Yatra.

Suggested Read: Deepawali 2024

Best Places to Observe the Celebrations of Ram Navami

Other Festivals in India with Holiday Type

Festivals in India Day Date Holiday Type
New Year’s Day Mon 01-Jan Restricted Holiday
Lohri Sat 13-Jan Restricted Holiday
Makar Sankranti Sun 14-Jan Restricted Holiday
Pongal Mon 15-Jan Restricted Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Wed 17-Jan Restricted Holiday
Republic Day Fri 26-Jan Gazetted Holiday
Losar Sat 10-Feb Restricted Holiday
Basant Panchmi Wed 14-Feb Restricted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Jayanti Sat 24-Feb Gazetted Holiday
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Wed 6-Mar Restricted Holiday
Mahashivratri Fri 8-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Holi Mon 25-March Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Fri 29-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Easter Day Sun 31-Mar Restricted Holiday
Gudi Padwa Tue 9-Apr Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Wed 10-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Vaisakhi (Vishu) Sat 13-Apr Restricted Holiday
Rama Navami Wed 17-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Sun 21-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Wed 8-May Restricted Holiday
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 23-May Gazetted Holiday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) Mon 17-Jun Restricted Holiday
Rath Yatra Sun 7-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Muharram (Ashura) Wed 17-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Independence Day Thu 15-Aug Gazetted Holiday
Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraz) Thu 15-Aug Public Holiday
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Mon 19-Aug Restricted Holiday
Janmashtami Mon 26-Aug Restricted Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi Sat 7-Sep Restricted Holiday
Onam Sun 15-Sep Restricted Holiday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e- Milad Mon 16-Sep Gazetted Holiday
Gandhi Jayanti Wed 02-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra Sat 12-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Valmiki Jayanti Thu 17-Oct Restricted Holiday
Karva Chauth Sun 20-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dhanteras Tue 29-Oct Restricted Holiday
Kali Puja Thu 31-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Halloween Day Thu 31-Oct No Holiday
Diwali Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Lakshmi Puja Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Karnataka Rajyotsava Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Kerala Piravi Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Govardhan Puja Sat 2-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Bhai Dooj Sun 3-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Chhath Puja Thu 7-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Fri 15-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Wed 25-Dec Public Holiday
Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.
Close
Book Now