Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Good Friday 2024 Date, History, Significance, Celebration

Published Date: 17-Dec-2022

Falling on the Friday before Easter, Good Friday or Holy Friday is one of the most significant festivals of Christians. It is this day when Jesus Christ left his mortal form, after being crucified at a hill near Jerusalem. This day is meant to commemorate Jesus’ death and hence, is treated as a day of sorrow and atonement by the Christian community. Although, Good Friday has been the most dreadful day in the history of the Christians, yet it is celebrated with great enthusiasm throughout the nation.

As per the Christian literature, this day falls in the last week of Lent which is also known as ‘Holy Week’ that begins with Maundy Thursday and ends with Easter Sunday. According to the Gregorian calendar, Good Friday will take place on 29th March 2024.

Good Friday History and Significance

Good Friday 2020

Good Friday 2024

Although Good Friday is nowhere mentioned in the holy Bible, there is a verse stating about the crucifixion of Christ on this day. Soon after Jesus got arrested in Gethsemane in Jerusalem, the chief priests; Pontius Pilate and Herod trialled him for a number of times followed by which he was crucified. In the last week of Lent, Jesus died on a Friday which was later declared as Good Friday or Black Friday.

According to legends, Joseph of Arimathea asked chief priests for obtaining Jesus’ body and was permitted to do so. Later, Joseph wrapped Christ’s body in a clean linen cloth and placed it into a tomb. Right after two-days, Jesus resurrected as a supernatural entity on the first day of Eastertide which is observed as Easter Sunday.

Good Friday Celebrations in India

Good Friday 2020

Good Friday 2024

As stated above, it is mainly associated with the Christian community of the world. It is observed as a day to remember that Jesus Christ paid for the sins of his followers by giving away his own life. Christians visit churches and light candles in front of Christ’s idol, on this day.

Devotees take part in the Holy Mass which includes offering prayers to the mighty son of God, Christ. Also, there are a few Christian communities that offer stage performances based on the life and death of Christ.

Also, many people practice fast that prohibits them from eating non-vegetarian food, including dairy products.

Best Places to Observe the Celebration of Good Friday in India

  • Goa
  • Kerala
  • Meghalaya
  • Nagaland
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Kolkata

Other Festivals in India with Holiday Type

Festivals in India Day Date Holiday Type
New Year’s Day Mon 01-Jan Restricted Holiday
Lohri Sat 13-Jan Restricted Holiday
Makar Sankranti Sun 14-Jan Restricted Holiday
Pongal Mon 15-Jan Restricted Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Wed 17-Jan Restricted Holiday
Republic Day Fri 26-Jan Gazetted Holiday
Losar Sat 10-Feb Restricted Holiday
Basant Panchmi Wed 14-Feb Restricted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Jayanti Sat 24-Feb Gazetted Holiday
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Wed 6-Mar Restricted Holiday
Mahashivratri Fri 8-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Holi Mon 25-March Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Fri 29-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Easter Day Sun 31-Mar Restricted Holiday
Gudi Padwa Tue 9-Apr Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Wed 10-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Vaisakhi (Vishu) Sat 13-Apr Restricted Holiday
Rama Navami Wed 17-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Sun 21-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Wed 8-May Restricted Holiday
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 23-May Gazetted Holiday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) Mon 17-Jun Restricted Holiday
Rath Yatra Sun 7-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Muharram (Ashura) Wed 17-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Independence Day Thu 15-Aug Gazetted Holiday
Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraz) Thu 15-Aug Public Holiday
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Mon 19-Aug Restricted Holiday
Janmashtami Mon 26-Aug Restricted Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi Sat 7-Sep Restricted Holiday
Onam Sun 15-Sep Restricted Holiday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e- Milad Mon 16-Sep Gazetted Holiday
Gandhi Jayanti Wed 02-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra Sat 12-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Valmiki Jayanti Thu 17-Oct Restricted Holiday
Karva Chauth Sun 20-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dhanteras Tue 29-Oct Restricted Holiday
Kali Puja Thu 31-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Halloween Day Thu 31-Oct No Holiday
Diwali Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Lakshmi Puja Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Karnataka Rajyotsava Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Kerala Piravi Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Govardhan Puja Sat 2-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Bhai Dooj Sun 3-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Chhath Puja Thu 7-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Fri 15-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Wed 25-Dec Public Holiday

Read more – Places to visit in April

Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.

Explore popular experiences

See what other travellers like to do, based on ratings and number of bookings.
See All
General (361)Places to Visit (281)Things to do (145)Top Attractions (124)Travel Tips & Hacks (94)India (76)Festival & Events (73)New Delhi (72)Mumbai (71)Shopping (69)
Food & Restaurants (60)News (58)Goa (52)Bangalore (50)Hyderabad (44)Pune (44)Jaipur (43)Chennai (42)Historical Places (42)Nightlife (41)Lockdown Reads (41)Kolkata (40)Gurgaon (39)Pubs (36)Temples (30)Indore (26)Hill Stations (25)Water Parks (25)Ahmedabad (24)Weekend Getaways (24)Churches (24)Tours & Itineraries (24)Picnic Spots (23)Noida (21)Waterfalls (21)Best Time To Visit (21)Rivers & Lakes (20)Lucknow (19)Museums (19)Road Trips (19)How To Reach (19)Amritsar (18)Ooty (18)Beaches (18)Chandigarh (18)Udaipur (17)Patna (17)Honeymoon Places (16)Mahabaleshwar (15)Hindi (15)Cafe (13)Sports (13)Cricket (13)Pondicherry (12)Amusement Parks in India (12)Adventure (10)Top 10 in India (10)General (10)Destinations (9)Coimbatore (9)Mysore (8)Kochi (8)Varanasi (8)Agra (7)Nagpur (7)Bhopal (7)Karnataka (7)Kodaikanal (5)Bhubaneswar (5)Top 30 in India (5)Maharashtra (5)Kerala (5)Rishikesh (4)Vijayawada (4)Nashik (4)Himachal Pradesh (4)Business Travel (3)Madurai (3)Vadodara (3)Dehradun (3)Pushkar (3)Visakhapatnam (3)Shimla (3)Gwalior (3)Gangtok (3)Aurangabad (3)Jodhpur (3)Coorg (3)Tamil Nadu (3)Mathura (2)Munnar (2)Top 20 in India (2)Manali (2)Guwahati (2)Tirupati (2)Faridabad (2)Mussoorie (2)Ajmer (2)Virtual Tours (2)Nainital (2)KanyaKumari (2)Kasauli (2)Siliguri (2)Dharamshala (2)Rajasthan (2)Ayodhya (2)Sikkim (2)Best Places to Visit (2)Travel Hacks (1)Greater Noida (1)Raipur (1)Kangra (1)Ranchi (1)Mohali (1)Kanpur (1)Alleppey (1)Thrissur (1)Jabalpur (1)Bhiwadi (1)Udupi (1)Haridwar (1)Vellore (1)Mangaluru (1)Kolhapur (1)Puri (1)Online Tools for Business (1)Gift Ideas (1)Punjab (1)Odisha (1)Panjim (1)Jaisalmer (1)Wayanad (1)Mount Abu (1)Kashmir (1)Ujjain (1)Uttarakhand (1)Alibaug (1)Bikaner (1)Shillong (1)Chhattisgarh (1)
Best Places to Visit (1)
Close
Book Now