Get to know everything about travel
Book A Hotel
banner-image banner-image

Parsi New Year (Navroz) in India: History & Significance

Published Date: 09-Dec-2022

The Parsi New Year is a regional holiday celebrated on the first day of the Zoroastrian calendar’s first month, Farvardin. It is also known as Navroz, which is derived from ‘nav’ and ‘roz’, meaning new and day respectively in Persian. The festival falls every year on Spring Equinox around 21st March, but the Parsi community in India follows the Shahenshahi calendar and thus celebrates their new year later in July or August. Parsi New Year 2024 will be observed on 16th August (Friday) in India.

Parsi New Year History and Significance

Parsi New Year 2020 | Parsi New Year History

Parsi New Year 2024 | Parsi New Year History

According to legends, this 3000-year-old Zoroastrian tradition – the Parsi New Year holiday was created by Prophet Zoroaster. It was celebrated by the followers of Zoroastrianism in Persia (now Iran), who migrated to places like Gujarat in India in the 7th century owing to the Islamic invasion. Although the festival originated in Persia, it is celebrated with much fervor in many Indian states. The day is also referred to as Jamshedi Navroz after the Persian King Jamshed who founded the Parsi calendar.

Parsi New Year Celebrations and Preparations 

How is Parsi New Year celebrated?

Parsi New Year or Navroz preparations begin with a focus on celebrating the renewal that a new year brings such as house cleaning, wearing new clothes, giving gifts, and making charitable donations. People visit the temples to offer prayers and relish Parsi dishes such as Farcha, Egg Patties, Mithu Dahi, Sali Boti, and Jardaloo Chicken. People greet each other with Parsi New Year wishes of good fortune and health.

Parsi New Year Celebrations across India

Parsi New Year 2020 | Parsi New Year Celebrations

Parsi New Year 2024 | Parsi New Year Celebrations

On this day, Parsis clean the house and decorate it with flowers and rangoli to make it look beautiful and welcoming for visitors. Dressed up in traditional attire, they visit the Fire Temple after breakfast and perform a prayer called Jashan to express gratitude to the Lord, pray for prosperity, and seek His forgiveness. Milk, water, fruits, flowers, and sandalwood are put into the sacred fire as offerings.

Guests are welcomed with a sprinkling of rose water, offered Faluda to drink and exchange Navroz Mubarak wishes. Also, people often mark the Parsi New Year celebrations by giving charitable donations to the poor.

Places to Observe Parsi New Year’s Day in India

  • Gujarat
  • Maharashtra

Other Festivals in India with Holiday Type

Festivals in India Day Date Holiday Type
New Year’s Day Mon 01-Jan Restricted Holiday
Lohri Sat 13-Jan Restricted Holiday
Makar Sankranti Sun 14-Jan Restricted Holiday
Pongal Mon 15-Jan Restricted Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Wed 17-Jan Restricted Holiday
Republic Day Fri 26-Jan Gazetted Holiday
Losar Sat 10-Feb Restricted Holiday
Basant Panchmi Wed 14-Feb Restricted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Jayanti Sat 24-Feb Gazetted Holiday
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Wed 6-Mar Restricted Holiday
Mahashivratri Fri 8-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Holi Mon 25-March Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Fri 29-Mar Gazetted Holiday
Easter Day Sun 31-Mar Restricted Holiday
Gudi Padwa Tue 9-Apr Restricted Holiday
Eid-ul-Fitr Wed 10-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Vaisakhi (Vishu) Sat 13-Apr Restricted Holiday
Rama Navami Wed 17-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Sun 21-Apr Gazetted Holiday
Rabindra Jayanti Wed 8-May Restricted Holiday
Buddha Purnima (Vesak) Thu 23-May Gazetted Holiday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) Mon 17-Jun Restricted Holiday
Rath Yatra Sun 7-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Muharram (Ashura) Wed 17-Jul Gazetted Holiday
Independence Day Thu 15-Aug Gazetted Holiday
Parsi New Year’s Day (Nauraz) Thu 15-Aug Public Holiday
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Mon 19-Aug Restricted Holiday
Janmashtami Mon 26-Aug Restricted Holiday
Ganesh Chaturthi Sat 7-Sep Restricted Holiday
Onam Sun 15-Sep Restricted Holiday
Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e- Milad Mon 16-Sep Gazetted Holiday
Gandhi Jayanti Wed 02-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra Sat 12-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Valmiki Jayanti Thu 17-Oct Restricted Holiday
Karva Chauth Sun 20-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Dhanteras Tue 29-Oct Restricted Holiday
Kali Puja Thu 31-Oct Gazetted Holiday
Halloween Day Thu 31-Oct No Holiday
Diwali Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Lakshmi Puja Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Karnataka Rajyotsava Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Kerala Piravi Fri 1-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Govardhan Puja Sat 2-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Bhai Dooj Sun 3-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Chhath Puja Thu 7-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Fri 15-Nov Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Wed 25-Dec Public Holiday

FAQs

Q. What is Navroz Mubarak?

A. Navroz festival is a Parsi New Year celebrated across the globe where people wish each other by saying “Navroz Mubarak”. 

Q. Navroz festival is celebrated by which religion?

A. The Parsi community in India, which follows Zoroastrianism, celebrates Navroz, marking the beginning of the New Year.

Q. Is Parsi new year a national holiday?

A. Parsi New Year is not a national holiday, it is a restricted holiday.

Q. Which god is worshipped on Navroz Mubarak 2024?

A. Parsis believe in the existence of one invisible God, called Ahura Mazda. They worship their God in the form of fire, which symbolizes light.

Q. When is Navroz 2024?

A. Navroz 2024 or Parsi New Year 2024 will be celebrated on August 16th.

Q. How do Parsis celebrate Navroz?

A. Parsis will wear new dresses and interchange sweets and festival wishes. They make a visit to Agiary, which are also called fire temples. On this special day, milk, fruits, flowers, sandalwood, etc., are offered to the fire.

Q. Navroz festival is celebrated in which state?

A. Navroz is mainly celebrated in Gujarat and Maharashtra where majority of the Parsi population resides. 

Q. When is Parsi New Year in 2024?

A. The Parsi New Year in 2024 is on 16th August. 

Q. Who started Navroz festival in India?

A. Navroz or Parsi New Year was introduced in India by Ghiyas ud din Balban.

Sargun Preet Kaur
Sargun has an appetite for challenges and creative hurdles that can help her grow as she conquers them one by one. With an innate desire to travel the world, she weaves through life by visiting her dream destinations. When not in her creative zone, Sargun loves to smash in badminton and binge-watch her favourite shows.
Close
Book Now