The 67th edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race (NTB) at Alappuzha, is scheduled for 10th August.  News has it that the Nehru Trophy will be inaugurated by Kerala Chief Minister, Pinarayi Vijayan. The day will also see the commencement of the Champions Boat League (CBL). Started this year as a part of the noble initiative to conserve and promote the tradition of Kerala, this league will be conducted at 12 different venues across the state, between 31st August and 23rd November. The first edition of this annual event will be graced by the presence of the legendary cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar.

Some 79 boats, including 23 snake boats (Chundan Vallom), will be participating in the boat race. Of the 23 snake boats, 20 (including the nine competing in a league format) will contest in the final. The winning team will be awarded the Nehru Trophy and the rest will partake in the exhibition race.

About Nehru Trophy Boat Race

Named after Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, the Nehru Trophy Boat Race is normally organised on Punnamada Lake near Alappuzha, on the second Saturday of August every year. It is truly a spectacle of strength, passion and celebration and draws in millions of people from worldwide to the mighty backwaters of Kerala. On the day of the legendary snake boat race, the area comes alive with festivities and a large number of boats – ranging from small rafts to nearly 100 ft. long snake boats – line up to battle it out and put on a show to the tunes of traditional boat songs that the onlookers can never forget.

Important Information about Nehru Trophy Boat Race:

Date second Saturday of August
Venue Punnamada Lake, Alappuzha
Event Timings 11 AM onward
Boat Services 10 AM – 12 Noon
Age Limit 10+
Ticket Charges Tourist Gold: 3000 INR
  Tourist Silver: 2000 INR
  Rose Corner: 800 INR for one/1500 INR for two
  Victory Lane: 500 INR
  All View: 300 INR
  Lake View Gold: 200 INR
  Lawn: 100 INR